HOME – Flash Fiction Friday (Nov. 3)

tumblr_oy20xhrU5T1r3yj8do1_540

He said he was taking me home.

Where home was I didn’t quite know just yet, only that it was a rustic cabin in the mountains of New Hampshire. It sounded wonderful. Mind you, we’d been on the move for so long, any place permanent with a bed and a fireplace and, well, Alex, sounded like heaven.

“We’re almost there,” he said, glancing at me. “How are you feeling?”

I looked over at my knight in shining armour, the man who had stayed with me while I’d questioned everything about my life and my past and almost thrown it all away.

“Tired.”

He nodded. “Me too. It’ll be good to get back.”

For him it was returning to something good. For me it was starting something, hopefully good, maybe even great. I nodded, and took a pack of gum out of my pocket.

“Want one?”

“Sure.”

I unwrapped a piece and held it in front of his mouth. He glanced quickly at me, smiling and then opening to take it, his lips touching my fingers briefly. There was something so sexy about it.

I felt good, really good, in a way I hadn’t in a very long time.

“Simon?”

“Yeah?”

“How long will you stay with me?” Alex asked with a vulnerable pitch to his voice. “I mean, I think what we’ve got going on is pretty good and –”

“As long as you’ll let me stay. I’ve got nowhere else to go right now. And nowhere I’d rather be than with you.”

“I think I love you,” he said quietly, his eyes on the rain wet road ahead.

I grinned and leaned in to kiss him chastely on the cheek. “I know you do. And you’re the only one who ever has.”

“I don’t believe that’s true, Simon. I can’t believe it.”

I shrugged, leaning back in the passenger seat and gazing out at the towering fir trees. He could believe what he wanted. But I knew he was the first person who had ever put me first and loved me in a way that gave me the courage to go on.

“I love you too.” I said. “Now let’s go home.”

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

