Know your safe word.

New Book Review Feature

Book-Review

I’ve decided to add the occasional book review to my website/blog.

Now I have, over the years, come to the conclusion that these sorts of books, by which I mean romance and erotic romance, are an intensely personal experience. As such, there is a wide variation of what appeals to certain people and what doesn’t. A book that I might love and think is the epitome of distinction might cause someone else to go “meh” and vice versa.

That being said, I am very picky about which sorts of books I enjoy reading. I write in this genre in order to write stories I enjoy and think are worthwhile. There is a certain level of competence and style that I must find in any book that is going to resonate with me. Because of this, I wouldn’t be able to have a book review site where I invited anyone and everyone to submit books for an honest review because I’d end up skewering at least half of them.

Recently, I became a member of a Facebook Group that provides links to books that are currently free to purchase on Amazon. As I understand, some authors are able to offer certain of their titles for free for a limited number of days which enables them to, a)climb to the top of the bestseller list for a certain amount of time, thus making them more visible in the retail giant’s algorithms and, b)expose their work to new readers who might not be able to/want to purchase their book at the regular price.

I used to avoid reading other titles in my genre because I couldn’t count on the quality of the work when I made a purchase. As the mother of two kids living on an almost single family income, I don’t have money to throw away on books I don’t end up liking/reading, even if it is only $3-$6.

So I have been downloading a lot of these free ebooks to my Kindle app and I would say that maybe one out of five are books that I end up reading past chapter one. Sometimes I don’t even get that far. Very often, the premise sounds intriguing but when I begin reading, either there are major problems with the story or great difficulties with execution. On occasion I will persevere with a story that doesn’t completely enthral me because the writing itself is good enough but still end up feeling less that satisfied at its conclusion. Occasionally, the writing is so bad I wonder how this person got published in the first place. Although a good proofreader can ensure that a written work is free of errors and typos, they cannot cover for a writer who is not skilled at creating realistic, or at least believable, fiction.

What I would like to do is to take the books that I do enjoy and review them here on my blog/website, because this way I can help you all discover some really outstanding writers and some kick-ass stories.

The first four books I will review are:

Playing to Win by Avery Cockburn

Feral by Kate Sherwood

Off Campus by Amy Jo Cousins

and;

The Troll Whisperer by Sara Trevor

Stay tuned!

Categorised in: Book Review, gay, gay erotica, Photo

Leave a Reply

