The James Lucas Trilogy

tumblr_msihclMSZL1qmv6iio1_500

When I started writing my first novel, which became Beyond the Edge, I wasn’t even sure I could write a full length novel. I had these three distinct characters in my head and I knew how they met, and I had a vague idea where to take it from there. But I wasn’t sure if all three would get together, or just two. I kind of just followed them along and let them show me what they wanted. And it worked.

I loved writing this book. After a lifetime interest in BDSM, it was wonderful to bring that and my love of gay men together in this world I created, set in my home city of Ottawa, Ontario, Canada.

I am immensely proud of this book. It received an Honorable Mention from the NLA-I (National Leather Association – International) in the Pauline Réage Award category for excellence in SM/Leather/Fetish writing.

After it was published, a number of readers expressed sadness at the bittersweet ending of Beyond the Edge. I won’t go into detail at the risk of spoiling the book but a certain character did not get the HEA ending some readers felt he deserved.

I didn’t want to leave these characters behind either. So I started writing what became The Cross and the Trinity, again not 100% sure I would complete it. But I did, and I realized I had some sort of a series going on. The fetish party scene in this book was very fun to write and still receives many positive comments from reviewers.

When I finished writing The Cross and the Trinity I had a feeling that I did want to write a third book. That book became A Numinous Light. But what to title my trilogy? I agonized over this for a long time. All three novels are told from the point of view of Tate Mackenzie, but James is the pivotal force of the first novel and the binding presence in the last two. Plus he is the character that motivated me to write the novels. I had this image of a great Dom – one who is intelligent, compassionate, competent. A Dom who knows his kink and knows how to put his subs in their place, yet who always plays safe and knows the difference between aggression and assertiveness. Finally, a Dom who despite his best efforts, often finds himself at the emotional mercy of his subs.

So the series is titled The James Lucas Trilogy. Since I didn’t write these books as a conceptualized series from the very beginning, there can be confusion on some book platforms as to the order of the books and their existence as a unified trilogy. I’ve listed them here in order.

Each book is different, because I can’t stand writing the same thing over and over again. And each book can stand alone as an independent story. You don’t have to have read the first book to enjoy the second, or the third, although it might deepen your appreciation of the characters and their journey.

BeyondtheEdge_432
Book 1

BUY NOW:  MLR PressAmazon, Barnes and Noble

Blurb: Tate Mackenzie has signed on for a weekend of kinky fun at the hands of respected Dom, James Lucas. However, James has invited another man, twenty-four year-old Sebastian Doucette, to join in. Thrown together under James’ expert tutelage, the two men experience an instant attraction and begin a tentative relationship on their own time. But James hasn’t been entirely honest with the boys and soon Tate finds himself the focus of two infatuated men. How will he choose the man he wants or the lifestyle he desires to pursue?

Review: “Full five stars. Reading this story was such a pleasure, the writing smooth and pacing perfect. Exploring this Dom and two-sub menage was quite an erotic trip, with many of the scenes standing out as unique in my experience. The cross-dressing was an interesting exercise in humiliation and the puppy play adorable. Something for everyone in this BDSM adventure. Not to mention a sweet romance.

Highly recommend!”

~ Goodreads, 2012

TheCrossandtheTrinity_432
Book 2

BUY NOW:  MLR PressAmazonBarnes and Noble

Blurb: Tate and Sebastian are having trouble maintaining a successful monogamous relationship. When trust is betrayed and old friends reappear, the men are faced with the challenge of making things work or changing the way they will be together. Nobody ever said relationships were easy, and when sexy Dom James Lucas swoops in at the right time, things get even more complicated. Or do they? Do gay men have to tow the traditional line, or is there room for a new definition of true love?

Review: “That was so beautifully written, I love Elizabeth Lister’s writing style and am now devouring everything I can find by this author. The first person pov through Tate’s eyes is done so well, he is such a caring and lovely character. And the way we get to know the secondary characters through Tate’s eyes… Sebastian, sweet and adorable and just a little bit naughty. And James, well *ahem* yeah, holy shit.”

~ Goodreads, 2016

NuminousLight_432-1
Book 3

MLR PressAmazon, Barnes and Noble

Blurb: It’s been five years since James, Tate and Sebastian moved in together to enjoy a three-way BDSM relationship and James is turning fifty. After enjoying a surprise party and thoughtful gift, the health crisis of a close friend necessitates a trip to Montreal, followed by a snowy Christmas getaway in Mont Tremblant. Soon, an unexpected event challenges the dynamics of the relationship. Will the sudden appearance of family members, old friends, and new acquaintances cause insurmountable problems or present an opportunity to demonstrate the real meaning of togetherness?

Review: “A lovely (and hot!) conclusion to this series. I admit, I adore these characters too much to be entirely objective, but I continue to be enamored with the healthy portrayal of BDSM and an open-ish relationship that is refreshingly drama-free. It was deeply gratifying to spend more time in their world.”

~ Goodreads, 2015

Leave a Reply

