Know your safe word.

Update!

Many things are changing for me this year.

My previous Facebook account was a combination of my author persona and my personal friends/family life which simply wasn’t working anymore so I took a lengthy break and ended up deleting it. I now have a separate Facebook account for friends and family which I am deliberately keeping very small and use mostly for the purpose of keeping up with out-of-town folks.

I have created a new Elizabeth Lister Facebook account specifically for my promos and author related activity. It can be found here.

I also started a Tumblr account that I’m having so much fun with that can be found here.

You can still find me on Twitter here.

And, of course, this website is the best place to find out about my work and keep up to date with current projects.

Now that the Christmas season is over and my family seems in large part recovered from the various plagues and viruses that have been assailing us for the past four weeks, I am very excited about my work-in-progress, Return to the Beach House. I wasn’t sure at first whether it would be a short story, novella or full length novel, but it has evolved on its own into the latter.

The beautiful thing is that I seem able to combine several things that I’ve wanted to do for a long time into this one large and ambitious project.

tumblr_nnf5tqivat1r76jrto1_540

These would be, one, setting a story in a small Maritime town on the South Shore of Nova Scotia. My family used to spend a few weeks every second summer in Liverpool, which was a favourite and memorable place for me. A place that I have not been able to spend much time recently and would love to revisit in my imagination. The small town in the novel will be the fictional town of Somerville, but will be based on my memories of Liverpool, N.S.

Two, taking an idea from a project I was unable to complete during my Scriptwriting course at Algonquin College, an idea that was one of three selected in the class to pitch to the executives of the CBC during a field trip to Toronto and the Film Training Centre. Although I never completed the project, the story idea was well received and I’ve always believed it had great potential. Even at the young age of 26 I had an interest in writing about gay men, and the central characters of this story were an established gay couple. But their homosexuality was only a sidebar to the main story.

Three, writing a contemporary novel not particularly aimed at a MM Romance readership. I have been writing specifically for MLR Press for five years now, and although it has been immensely rewarding and educational, I feel like I am ready to step outside of the strict codes and guidelines of the romance and specifically, MM romance, rules and guidelines.

This, of course, means finding another publisher who has no problem combining gay romance with heterosexual or bisexual characters, and storylines that include realistic occurrences such as a character straying outside of an established relationship. I want to write about real life as much as possible with its diverse representation of humanity and its full range of behaviours whether ideal or flawed, and I’m finding that the confines of the MM romance world don’t allow that.

So 2017 will be the year for breaking out of a specific genre and writing the book I want to write, featuring characters that call to me in their flawed and miraculous existence. Although not specifically a romance or erotic romance, rest assured that it will still feature much of my previous style since I have always written from the heart and enjoy detailing the amorous encounters of my characters. However, I hope that this story will be richer in detail, description and plot than anything I have written previously.

~ Liz

 

 

Categorised in: Inspiration, Photo, Promo, Work In Progress

2 Responses »

  1. Can’t wait for the next Beach House book! Also looking forward to what you write in 2017 – forbiddenfiction.com might be a good publisher for you to try with any M/F work you do?

    Like

    • Thank you. I’m pretty excited about it too! Once the kids go back to school next week I’ll be able to focus on it more fully.
      Thank you for your Goodreads reviews of Beyond the Edge and The Cross and the Trinity! I really appreciate the positive feedback.

      Like

Leave a Reply

